Introduction

Are you new to the UCM? This guide will help you to get started!

If you want to ... this guide is right for you.

Installing the enterprise edition by yourself

If you want to use Shared Groups for your domain, you have to install our app to Google App Engine.

You can install a full working 30-days trial in your domain.
You upgrade from this free 30-days trial to the full version at any time by extending your subscription using PayPal.
Unfortunately installing the application is not easy. Please follow the steps outlined in the following video very carefully to get the application up and running.

!!!MOVIE!!!

Before sharing tons of contacts, please read our FAQ get a feeling for the free quotas limits of Google App Engine.

Let a reseller do the dirty work

If you don't feel comfortable with doing this complex install by yourself, you can ask one of our resellers to do the installation for you. The reseller will perform all the required steps to perfectly integrate the application into your Google Apps environment. You'll find a list of our resellers on this page.

Getting started

Keeping contacts in sync between different Google accounts may sound simple, but it is a technically challenging task.

Please note the following guidelines, to get your system up and running hassle-free:

Before sharing contacts between different accounts make sure that each contact exists only once!

If you have the same contact in different accounts already and start sharing them, they will be treated as different contacts and you will end up with duplicates. To avoid this problem, it is recommended to clean up the contacts of all accounts before creating or sharing a group so that each contact that you want to share exists only in one of the accounts.

The system needs time to sync the contacts, please be patient!

If you are sharing a group, it takes at least one synchronization cycle to distribute all contacts to all accounts. You can easily confuse the system by deleting and recreating shared groups while the sync is not yet complete. Removing subscribers from a group or deleting a group will trigger an internal garbage collection that may take some time. So if something is not working as expected and you decide to start from scratch, please make sure to give the system time to clean up all the old data after removing a group before recreating the group. This may take some minutes or even hours if your group contained a lot of shared contacts.

If you are running the enterprise edition, make sure that you are not running out of quota!

If you've installed the enterprise edition you are responsible for providing sufficient resources for the application on Google App Engine. To be on the safe side it is highly recommended to enable billing and increase the quota for the CPU resources. You'll only get charged if you exceed the free quota and you'll only get charged for consumed resources. If you are running out of quota the system will run into an inconsistent state that may produce duplicates, missing contacts and alike and it will take a lot of effort to clean up the resulting mess.

Don't send out invitation emails to mail aliases!

If you are inviting another account to your shared group, please make sure to invite the account by the email address that will be displayed after the user logged in to the application. Sending emails to any mail aliases will not work and will result in a message like "Invitation has been revoked in the meantime..." If you are sure that you've invited the correct email and your subscribers still get this message, please ask them to accept the invitation with a fresh browser. If you are logged in to another Google account with the same browser already, you'll also run into problems.